Spillage Village Releases New Single "Hapi"

Spillage Village Releases New Single "Hapi"


Supergroup Spillage Village, consisting of EARTHGANG, JID, Mereba, 6LACK and more have been making music together well before the crew members branched out and earned GRAMMY nominations and critical acclaim. After releasing Bears Like This in 2014, Bears Like This Too in 2015 and Bears Like This Too Much in 2016, the group took a brief hiatus to focus on solo endeavors. Now Spillage Village reconvenes for their new album Spilligion, set to release this Friday, September 25.

Their latest: the new “Hapi” featuring lead vocals from Mereba, Olu of EARTHGANG and the group’s latest addition, Benji. There’s even a spoken word section performed by Big Rube of Dungeon Family fame. The piano intro sets the stage for an emotional and uplifting journey with an especially vivid group chorus: “I met a man playin’ in the woods/ His piano was off-key/ He sang to me softly/ I bet he wouldn’t change it if he could/ Gunshots ringin’ in my hood/ It sounds so off-beat/ I’m prayin’ they don’t off me/ I promise I’d change it if I could.”

The collective kicked off their latest project with “End of Daze” — a fitting lead single in name and theme if there ever was one given the year — back in June. Then this month they premiered “Baptize” alongside an official visual full of biblical allusions. “While global pandemics, civil uprising and climate change becomes a focus of our consciousness, Spilligion aims to signal the power of coming together as people and communities, united regardless of religion or creed; a sonic solace to face everything that has been thrown at us this year,” a recent press release stated of the upcoming release.

Stream Spillage Village’s “Hapi” below and check out the tracklist for the group’s new album. In more music updates, Big Sean confirmed that a new TWENTY88 album is in the works with Jhené Aiko.

Spillage Village – Spilligion Tracklist
01. “Intro”
02. “Baptize”
03. “PsalmSing”
04. “Ea’Alah” (Family)
05. “Mecca”
06. “Judas” (ft. Chance The Rapper, Ari Lennox, Buddy and Masego)
07. “Oshun”
08. “Cupid” (ft.Lucky Daye)
09. “Shiva”
10. “End of Daze”
11. “Hapi” (ft. Big Rube)
12. “Jupiter

Source: Read Full Article